Pune Crime


Pune 3 Feb 17 (PCP NEWS) : India’s Top Most Institute of Chemical Technology (ICT), (previously UDCT) will Confer Honorary Doctorate on two Nobel Laureates, Mr Jean-Marie Lehn from France and Robert H. Grubbs from United State of America on 8 Feb at Institute of Chemical Technology Premises at Matunga, Mumbai, during the sixth convocation said the Vice Chancellor Padmashri G D Yadav here this morning. CONFERED

Padmashri G D Yadav, while speaking with PCP News Correspondent further said that, on 8 Feb we are having our sixth Convocation where the Maharashtra Governor CH Vidyasagar Rao will address the students of ICT, Padmavibhushan Dr Raghunath Mashelkar will preside over the function, its a great honor for our Institute to interact these two Nobel Laureates, which will result fruitful for the students and our Institute. During this function, Nobel Laureate Professor Jean-Marie Lehn, Professor at Collège de France in Paris and Nobel Laureate Professor Robert H. Grubbs, Victor and Elizabeth Atkins Professor of Chemistry, California Institute of Technology will also be bestowed with D.Sc. (Hon.Causa) said Yadav.

G D Yadav also mentioned about ICT, he said that, Institute of Chemical Technology (ICT), formerly the University Department of Chemical Technology (UDCT), is a Premier Chemical Technology Research Institute located in Mumbai, It is focused on training and research in various branches of chemical engineering, chemical technology, and pharmacy. It was established in 1933 and was granted deemed university status in 2008, making it the only state-funded deemed university in India. Now ICT is rated on number 1 position among all the leading Institutes and Universities in our country according to Web of Science, Thomson Reuters Group, based on Normalized Citation Impact Index. The MPNG Government of India had advised ICT to setup 400 TPD two plants to produce Ethanol in 24 hours, since ICT’s 2 G Bio Ethanol Technology using Agriculture Waste Biomass to produce Ethanol, is found to the most successful, said Yadav.

While speaking about the Noted Alumni Yadav said, ICT has produced more than 500 first generation entrepreneurs and academicians, Civilian honors including 8 Padma Shri and 8 each of Padma Bhushan and 3 Padma Vibhushan have been bestowed upon various alumni ICT. Only two Indian Chemical engineers, namely Raghunath Mashelkar and Man Mohan Sharma, have been bestowed with the fellowship of the Royal Society, both of whom are alumni of ICT among five Engineers from India, Other notable alumni include, Mukesh Ambani, who is one of the top Industrialist of our country, Sunil Ramanand is one of the Super Cop in Indian Police Service, presently he is the Joint Police Commissioner at Pune, Man Mohan Sharma FRS, Anant Pai, Father of Indian Comics, Kallam Anji Reddy, Founder of Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories, Keki Hormusji Gharda, Founder of Gharda Chemicals, Narotam Sekhsaria, H.N. Sethna, former Chairman of Atomic Energy Commission, Jyeshtharaj Joshi, Srinivas, noted South Indian Classical Singer, Ashwin Dani, Founder of Asian Paints, Madhukar Parekh, Co-founder of Pidilite Industries, Doraiswami Ramkrishna, Distinguished Professor at Purdue University, said Yadav.
ICT BUilding
Yadav also reminded that on 8 Feb the youngsters of our country have an opportunity to grace the Convocation function and to meet the two Nobel Laureates. PCP/Dj 12 30 G D Yadav

Share This
1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Dr Prakash

    February 4, 2017 at 11:06 am

    Congrats Dr G D Yadav and Thanx Dr Smita Lele for the information.
    Wishing every success for 8th Feb Convocation.
    Dr Prakash Kondekar,Mumbai,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top